Late reprieve saves Daniels!

By David Watters

Stamford will be playing in the EVO-STIK Northern Premier League's top flight next season after all after winning a late Football Association reprieve on Friday.

Subject to any appeals, the Daniels - relegated in April following their fourth from bottom finish - are celebrating after Cinderford Town confirmed this week that they didn't want to take promotion to Step 3 and play in the EVO-STIK League Southern's Premier Division.

As result of a subsequent reshuffle of the 2016-17 Non-League pyramid by the FA, Corby Town are heading to the EVO-STIK Southern League's Premier Division following their relegation from National League North after their switch to the EVO-STIK NPL's top flight was cancelled.

As a further knock-on, Evesham Town are moving laterally at Step 4 from the EVO-STIK Southern League's Division One South & West division to the EVO-STIK NPL's First Division South to fill the berth left empty by Stamford's escape.

The 68 clubs set to compete in the EVO-STIK NPL's Premier, North and South divisions were were originally announced two weeks ago following the annual end of season reshuffle at Steps 1-4 by the FA’s Leagues Committee at Wembley.

Like those of the Football Conference, EVO-STIK League Southern and Ryman League, the league’s revised constitution, listed below, is subject to appeal and will be confirmed at the EVO-STIK NPL's AGM which takes place on Saturday 18 June at the Hilton Hotel in Blackpool.

Revised EVO-STIK Northern Premier League 2016-17 Constitution

Premier Division
Ashton United, Barwell, Blyth Spartans, Buxton, Coalville Town, Frickley Athletic, Grantham Town, Halesowen Town, Hednesford Town, Ilkeston FC, Marine, Matlock Town, Mickleover Sports, Nantwich Town, Rushall Olympic, Skelmersdale United, Spennymoor Town, Stafford Rangers, Stamford, Stourbridge, Sutton Coldfield Town, Warrington Town, Whitby Town and Workington.

First Division North
Bamber Bridge, Brighouse Town, Burscough, Clitheroe, Colne, Colwyn Bay, Droylsden, Farsley Celtic, Glossop North End, Goole AFC, Hyde United, Kendal Town, Lancaster City, Mossley, Ossett Albion, Ossett Town, Prescot Cables, Radcliffe Borough, Ramsbottom United, Scarborough Athletic, Tadcaster Albion and Trafford.

First Division South
AFC Rushden & Diamonds, Basford United, Bedworth United, Belper Town, Carlton Town, Chasetown, Evesham, Gresley, Kidsgrove Athletic, Leek Town, Lincoln United, Loughborough Dynamo, Market Drayton Town, Newcastle Town, Northwich Victoria, Romulus, Rugby Town, Sheffield, Shaw Lane Aquaforce, Spalding United, Stocksbridge Park Steels and Witton Albion.

Follow us: @evostikleague on Twitter | Facebook | The NPL Facebook Group

Where next?

Rams turn to new double act Mark Fell and Paul Fildes are looking forward to turning around the fortunes of Ramsbottom United in the EVO-STIK Northern Premier next season after the duo were unveiled as the club's new joint managers on Friday.
Newsham is duo's first signing New Matlock Town managers Glenn Kirkwood and Craig Hopkins have made striker Marc Newsham their first signing for the 2016-17 EVO-STIK Northern Premier League campaign, writes Ian Richardson.

Match centre

Senior Northern Premier League - Premier
Senior Northern Premier League - East
Senior Northern Premier League - Midlands
Senior Northern Premier League - West

Latest photos

The Pitching In Northern Premier League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.