FA allocations released for 2024/25 season

By James Heyes

The FA have released the Step 1-6 league allocations for the 2024/25 season as the Northern Premier League welcomes 16 new and familiar names.

Prior to the reveal of the new league set-ups, it was announced that AFC Rushden and Diamonds, Brighouse Town and Hednesford Town had received reprieves from relegation following resignations and several voluntary relegations across Steps 3 and 4. All three sides will remain in their leagues from last season.

In our Premier Division, Leek Town, Prescot Cables, Hebburn Town and Stockton Town enter the league following promotion from Step 4.

2016/17 champions Blyth Spartans return to the Northern Premier League following their last-day relegation from the National League North, as well as the return of Mickleover who transfer back from the Southern League. Last season, they were beaten semi-finalists in the play-offs.

In the East, the champions of the Northern Counties East, Northern League and United Counties League North move into the division as Bishop Auckland return to the NPL following an 18-year absence.

The Emley name, back in the league for the first time since 2006, and Sherwood Colliery make the jump to the Trident Leagues for the first time.

Also joining the East via play-off victories at Step 5 are Garforth Town, who re-join the league again from 2008, with Heaton Stannington also making the step up for the first time. Bradford (Park Avenue) have also been relegated to the NPL East Division.

Grantham Town will fill a vacancy in the Midland Division and move over laterally, but we will see the Champions of the United Counties South Division, Wellingborough Town, debut at Step 4 whilst also being joined by former Conference League founders Worcester City, who make their NPL Debut with the Hellenic League crown alongside them.

Darlaston Town (1874), Loughborough Students and Racing Club Warwick all will play in the Midland Division next season after winning their relevant play-off competitions. Long Eaton Town fill in the 22nd spot as the 2022/23 East Division winners return back to the NPL from the Southern League.

A double promotion in South Manchester to the West Division saw Wythenshawe AFC complete their second Championship in two years in the North West Counties, while their cross-town rivals Wythenshawe Town were also promoted via a play-off victory, meaning both sides have been promoted to Step 4 for the first time.

Congleton Town end a quarter of a centaury exile from the league as a founding member of the First Division return as winners of the Midland League, with Atherton Collieries and Stafford Rangers both completing the West set-up.

Leaving the league will be Cambridge City, who are laterally transferred to the Isthmian League North Division after a three-year stay in the League, while the Midland Division champions Spalding United alongside Harborough Town will be playing their Step 3 football in the Southern Premier Central Division.

As Radcliffe and Marine set their sights to the National League North, 1874 Northwich will play in Midland League, Winterton Rangers return to the NCEL and Gresley Rovers will move to the UCL following their relegation from the Northern Premier League, with Marske United reforming in the Northern League 1st Division while Loughborough Dynamo also leave the NLS system and await their new division.

All allocations await to be ratified and any appeals process following today's reveal.


Northern Premier League

Ashton United
Bamber Bridge
Basford United
Blyth Spartans
FC United of Manchester
Gainsborough Trinity
Hebburn Town
Hyde United
Ilkeston Town
Lancaster City
Leek Town
Matlock Town
Morpeth Town
Prescot Cables
Stockton Town
Warrington Rylands
Whitby Town
Worksop Town

NPL East Division

Belper Town
Bishop Auckland
Bradford (Park Avenue)
Bridlington Town
Brighouse Town
Carlton Town
Cleethorpes Town
Garforth Town
Grimsby Borough
Heaton Stannington
Newton Aycliffe
North Ferriby
Ossett United
Pontefract Collieries
Sherwood Colliery
Stocksbridge Park Steels

NPL Midlands Division

AFC Rushden & Diamonds
Anstey Nomads
Bedworth United
Boldmere St Michael's
Coleshill Town
Corby Town
Coventry Sphinx
Darlaston Town (1874)
Grantham Town
Hinckley Leicester Road FC
Long Eaton United
Loughborough Students
Lye Town
Racing Club Warwick
Rugby Town
Shepshed Dynamo
Sporting Khalsa
Sutton Coldfield Town
Walsall Wood
Wellingborough Town
Worcester City

NPL West Division

Atherton Collieries
City of Liverpool
Congleton Town
Hanley Town
Hednesford Town
Kidsgrove Athletic
Nantwich Town
Newcastle Town
Runcorn Linnets
Stafford Rangers
Stalybridge Celtic
Vauxhall Motors
Witton Albion
Wythenshawe Town

Where next?

Marine reveals plans for new stadium and £5m fundraising drive Marine have revealed ambitious plans to relocate to a new stadium following their promotion to the National League North.
Hardy commits future to Gladiators Matlock Town have confirmed that Liam Hardy has signed a new contract extension for the 2024/25 season.

Match centre

Northern Premier League - Premier
Northern Premier League - East
Northern Premier League - Midlands
Northern Premier League - West

Latest photos

2024/25 NPL East
4 photos
2024/25 NPL East
Npl 2425
4 photos
Npl 2425

The Pitching In Northern Premier League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.